Vidya Devi Jindal School hosted the All India IPSC Taekwondo Championship for Girls U-14, 17 & 19 – 2019 from August 26, 2019 to August 28, 2019.

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Nine IPSC schools, Scindia Kanya Vidyalaya; Gwalior, Raj Kumar College; Rajkot, Maharani Gayatri Devi School; Jaipur, Punjab Public School; Nabha, The Emerald Height School, Indore, Birla Balika Vidyapeth School, Pilani, The Mody School, Laxmangarh, Moti Lal Nehru School, Sonipat and the host school Vidya Devi Jindal School; Hisar, across the country competed for honours in the prestigious championship. Advocate Shri S.M Anand, was the Chief Guest of the Opening Ceremony. Sir is the President of the Haryana Taekwondo Association. He is also associated with the Haryana Olympic Association and Taekwondo Association of India which is recognised by the World Taekwondo Association.

The Opening Ceremony started with the introduction of the officials of Taekwondo Federation of India who had been invited to conduct the tournament. This was followed by the Oath Taking by the participants led by the VDJS Taekwondo team Captain Kareena. The participants took pledge to participate in loyal competition, respecting the rules and regulations that govern them in the true spirit of sportsman ship, for the honour of the IPSC member schools and for the glory of sports.

After this, the Taekwondo team members of Vidya Devi Jindal School, Hisar displayed some of the techniques of the sport. They demonstrated stick demonstration, pump sae, breaking and show bout.

The Chief Guest Shri S.M Anand, in his address highlighted the importance of Taekwondo for self-defence for girls in the present day society. He also spoke about the glorious tradition of IPSC schools and their contribution to society both before and after independence. He wished all the teams the best of time and declared the Championship ‘Open’.

The All India IPSC Taekwondo Championship came to an end on August 28, 2019. The Chief Guest of the Closing Ceremony was Ms Sukhbans Mann an alumna of Vidya Devi Jindal School. She had been a part of the taekwondo team under the supervision of Mr. Rakesh Sharma. Under his guidance and support she became the first woman black belt of the school as well as of Hisar. She has completed various rallies all over the country. The Raid de Himalaya in the Himalayas in 2011 and 2014. The Dakshin Dare Rally in Karnataka and Tamilnadu in 2015. She also won the Asia Pacific rally with Bani Yadav in 2015.

The bright smiles on the faces of the winners made the day a very special one. The excitement and the joy was palpable amongst the players. The Overall Trophy was bagged by Scindia KanyaVidyalaya, Gwalior while The First Runner’s Up Trophy was bagged by Vidya Devi Jindal School, Hisar. The Second Runner’s Up Trophy was bagged by Maharani Gayatri Devi Girls School, Jaipur. Players who got selected for School Games Federation of India, National Taekwondo were also felicitated.

The Chief Guest, Ms Sukhbans Mann appreciated the efforts of the players. She said that with time there has been a change in the role of women in the society and asked the girls to aspire much higher. She exhorted the players to be true sportsmen. She highlighted the achievements of Olympian Sakshi Malik, P. V. Sindhu and Michael Phelps, and asked the players to follow in their footsteps. She blessed the players and wished them success for their future life.





Recent Posts